SB Nation's NHL Awards 2012: The Cannon's Masterton Trophy Ballot

Over the past week or so, many of SB Nation's hockey writers have submitted their picks for the major NHL awards, and over the next few days we'll reveal the results. Yesterday, the Masterton winner was chosen, with Max Pacioretty getting the top vote.

Each writer submitted a first, second and third choice for the award. The first place vote was given three points, second place two, and third was given a single point. Matt and I each took part, and here are our picks:

Mike Matt
1- Petr Sykora
1- Joffrey Lupul
2- Sheldon Souray 2- Max Pacioretty
3- Manny Malhotra
3- Daniel Alfredsson

The Masterton isn't like the other awards- it usually takes something bad to happen before you get consideration, as the award is given for perseverance.

With my top two picks, I went with players who many believed were done as NHL players. Sykora was left without an NHL contract and bounced around European club teams before accepting a tryout with the Devils this past fall. He ended up earning a contract, and went on to have a solid with New Jersey, about to play for the Cup. Souray was in a similar situation, but he was seeming left to toil in the minors before the Stars came calling. Souray went on to ressurect his career with Dallas this past season. As for Manny, I must admit, it was a bit of a sentimental pick, but his return from a scary eye injury makes him a strong candidate for this award. Matt went with what I'd call the safe pick, with Toronto's Joffrey Lupul. The guy just couldn't stay healthy, but this past season he managed to play more games than he missed and he turned in a solid season. Matt voted for the eventual winner in Pacioretty, a player who's career may have been over after a scary hit by Zdeno Chara. Old man Alfy rounded out his picks.

What do you think of our picks? Let us know in the comments.

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.