SB Nation's NHL Awards 2012: The Cannon's Calder Trophy Ballot

Over the past week or so, many of SB Nation's hockey writers have submitted their picks for the major NHL awards, and over the next few days we'll reveal the results. Earlier this week the league's top rookie was chosen, with Gabriel Landeskog taking home the Calder trophy.

Each writer submitted a first, second and third choice for the award. The first place vote was given three points, second place two, and third was given a single point. Matt and I each took part, and here are our picks:

Mike Matt
1- Gabriel Landeskog
1- Gabriel Landeskog
2- Ryan Nugent-Hopkins 2- Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
3- Adam Henrique
3- Matt Read

Personally, my choice for Calder would have been Landeskog even if Nugent-Hopkins played a full season. I mean, this kid did everything for the Avs this past season. He put up a ton of points, he played physical, and was a leader. It has no bearing on this award whatsoever, but the fact that Landeskog wore a letter for the Swedes at the World Championships this spring really speaks to his character and leadership. Matt and I were in agreement that he should get the award, with Nugent-Hopkins the runner up. We differed with our third picks- I went with Eastern final hero Adam Henrique (this pick has nothing to do with the fact he's the Eastern final hero) while Matt went with an equally deserving candidate in Philly's Matt Read.

What do you think of our picks? Let us know in the comments.

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.