SB Nation's NHL Awards 2012: The Cannon's Lady Byng Trophy Ballot

Over the past week or so, many of SB Nation's hockey writers have submitted their picks for the major NHL awards, and over the next few days we'll reveal the results. Earlier this week, the Lady Byng winner was chosen, with Florida's Brian Campbell earning the nod.

Each writer submitted a first, second and third choice for the award. The first place vote was given three points, second place two, and third was given a single point. Matt and I each took part, and here are our picks:

Mike Matt
1- Teemu Selanne
1- Matt Moulson
2- Martin St.Louis 2- Jordan Eberle
3- Pavel Datsyuk
3- Brian Campbell

This award is given to the league's top gentleman, and if that means a lot of points with only a few penalty minutes, so be it. I went with Teemu Selanne, a true class act. Marty Saint-Lewis and Datsyuk are always deserving of this award. I can't argue with any of Matt's picks either, especially with his third-ranked player taking home the award.

What do you think of our picks? Let us know in the comments.

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.