Monsters Mash: Two Shutouts, a Shootout, and Overtime

The Monsters started the week out on a bit of a sour note with an overtime loss to the Iowa Wild. Zac Dalpe was the lone goal scorer.

The overtime loss against the Wild fired the Monsters up. They would go on to have two shutouts in a row.

The first shutout came against the Milwaukee Admirals. Yet again, Dalpe scored the loan goal of the game extending his goal streak to six games.

The second shutout happened against the first-place Griffins in Grand Rapids. Both Sonny Milano and Markus Hannikainen notched three points each.

Things became a bit intense when the Monsters and Griffins battled in Cleveland. The refs doled out 25 penalties totaling 116 minutes. The Monsters ended up winning in a shootout thanks to Hannikainen's backhanded goal.


Three players joined the Monsters this week.

On April 5th, the Blue Jackets assigned goaltender Oscar Dansk to the Cleveland Monsters. This is the final year of Dansk's contract. He will most likely back up Brad Thiessen in the event Anton Forsberg is called up to the Jackets for playoffs.

Ryan Collins signed an entry-level contract with the Blue Jackets on April 5th. He was then assigned to the Cleveland Monsters for the rest of the season. Collins had just finished his junior year at the University of Minnesota.

At the end of the QMJHL season, Vitaly Abramov was assigned to the Cleveland Monsters. Recently, he won the Jean Beliveau Trophy for most points (104) and the Michael Briere Memorial Award for being the MVP of the QMJHL.

In case you were wondering how some of the other newbies were doing, Eli Mooneyham of “NEO Sports Insiders” and I sat down last week to discuss how they are fitting in with the team. You can read the article here.


Record: 38-28-4-4, 84 points, .568 win%, 5th Central, 8th West

The Monsters sit square in the 5th spot in the division with two games left to play in the regular season. The Checkers sit in fourth with three games left in the regular season.

Both teams have a win percentage of 56.8%. However, the Monsters have one more point than the Checkers. If by some crazy turn of events the Monsters and Checkers lose all of their final games in regulation, the Monsters will be in the playoffs. Seeing as how both teams are fired up a lose streak from either team is highly unlikely.

The Monsters need the Grand Rapids Griffins to take their anger from this weekend and apply it to their next two games against the Checkers.

Team Leaders

Point Scorers

  1. Sonny Milano, 46
  2. T.J. Tynan, 40
  3. Markus Hannikainen, 36

Goal Scorers

  1. Sonny Milano, Markus Hannikainen,  18
  2. Justin Scott, 13
  3. Jordan Maletta, 12


  1. T.J. Tynan, 29
  2. Sonny Milano, 28
  3. Dean Kukan, 24

Penalty Minutes

  1. Brett Gallant, 128
  2. Oleg Yevenko, 86
  3. Jaime Sifers, 74

Weekly Stats

Shots For 117
Shots Against 127
Goals For 10
Goals Against 5
Penalties/Minutes 24/79 minutes
Penalty Kill 16 for 16
Power Play 2 for 16
1 Games Played 3
1-0-0-0 Record 2-0-1-0
31 Shots Faced 96
31 Saves 90
59:57:00 Time On Ice 186:08:00

Around the AHL


Point Scorers

  1. Kenny Agostino, 83
  2. Chris Terry, 65
  3. Chris Mueller, 64

Goal Scorers

  1. Wade Megan, Pontus Aberg, 31
  2. Nicklas Jensen, Rocco Grimaldi, 29
  3. Chris Terry, 28


  1. Kenny Agostino, 59
  2. Travis Boyd, 47
  3. Chris Mueller, 46

Penalty Minutes

  1. Sena Acolatse, Mike Liambis, 147
  2. Tyler Lewington, 142
  3. Bobby Farnham, 137


  1. Zane McIntyre – 1.88 GAA, 21  Wins, 52 GA, .935 sav%
  2. Troy Grosenick – 1.98 GAA, 30  Wins, 84 GA, .930 sav%
  3. Casey DeSmith – 2.05 GAA, 21  Wins, 55 GA, .925 sav%


Charles-David Beaudoin of the Binghamton Senators was suspended for three games after boarding an opponent on March 31st.

After boarding someone on April 7th, Jim O'Brien of the San Antonio Rampage was suspended for four games.

Player Awards

Jack Campbell, the goaltender for the Ontario Reign, was named “CCM/AHL Player of the Week”. Over the course of two games, he faced 58 shots and only allowed one goal.

It's the time of year where all the AHL regular season awards start rolling in.

Casey DeSmith (G-Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins), Devon Toews (D-Bridgeport Sound Tigers), Kyle Wood (D-Tuscon Roadrunners), Jake Guentzel (F-Wilkes-Barre Scranton Penguins), Mark Jankowski (F-Stockton Heat), and Daniel O'Regan (F-San Jose Barracudas) were named to the 2016-17 AHL All-Rookie Team. You can read about why they were named to the All-Rookie Team here.

The 2016-17 AHL First and Second All-Star Team was named this past week.

Troy Grosenick (G-San Jose Barracudas), T.J. Brennan (D-Lehigh Valley Phantoms), Matt Taormina (D-Syracuse Crunch), Kenny Agostino (LW-Chicago Wolves), Wade Megan (C-Chicago Wolves), and Taylor Beck (RW-Bakersfield Condors/Hartford Wolf Pack) were named to the First All-Star Team.

Zane McIntyre (G-Providence Bruins), Tim Heed (D-San Jose Barracudas), David Warsofsky (D-Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins), Chris Terry (LW-St. John's IceCaps), Travis Boyd (C-Hershey Bears), and Cory Conacher (RW-Syracuse Crunch) were named to the Second All-Star Team.

You can read more about the 2016-17 AHL First and Second All-Star Team honorees here.

Syracuse Crunch's Matt Taormina was named the winner of the Eddie Shore Award. This award honors the AHL's best defender. His 56 points are best in the league among defensemen.

Craig Cunningham was awarded the Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award. This award is given to the player who shows sportsmanship, determination, and dedication to the sport of hockey.

The Aldege “Baz” Bastien Memorial Award was given to Troy Grosenick of the San Jose Barracudas. This award honors the league's best goaltender.

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.