The Cannon’s Favorite Blue Jacket Is...

envelope please...

Today I am proud to announce that the favorite Columbus Blue Jacket of all time - as chosen by you, the loyal readers of The Cannon - is...


Bob absolutely blew away the competition at every stage. This was expected, as he also had received the most nominations (by far).

Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations and who voted in the match-ups for the last month and a half. I enjoyed running this and I hope you all enjoyed participating and strolling down memory lane together.

In addition, I hope this helped get us through the late summer doldrums. Now training camp is finally here and the season is right around the corner! As always, stay tuned to The Cannon for coverage of training camp and preseason.

For anyone that is interested, here is the complete bracket. There were exactly 48 players with at least 6 nominations, which gave me a perfect number to sort into brackets. From there I split them into 12 groups based on era. (How convenient that there were exactly 12 current players, right?) Current players got a lot more nominations on average, so sorting everyone this way corrected the recency bias a little bit.

Here is the full list of every player that received a nomination. It’s a real who’s who and “who’s that?” of the all-time CBJ roster.


Sergei Bobrovsky98
Nick Foligno71
Rick Nash70
Jody Shelley54
Zach Werenski51
Cam Atkinson48
Brandon Dubinsky43
Geoff Sanderson42
Seth Jones41
David Vyborny40
Ron Tugnutt34
Ray Whitney28
Vinny Prospal28
Boone Jenner27
Espen Knutsen22
Jakub Voracek20
Jean-Luc Grand-Pierre19
Rostislav Klesla19
Jack Johnson19
Sergei Fedorov18
Ryan Johansen16
James Wisniewski16
Tyler Wright15
Jared Boll15
Matt Calvert15
Manny Malhotra14
RJ Umberger14
Scott Hartnell14
Marc Denis12
Fedor Tyutin12
Mark Letestu12
Brandon Saad12
Derek MacKenzie11
Alexander Wennberg10
Fredrik Modin9
Josh Anderson9
Kevin Dineen8
Pascal LeClaire8
Artem Anisimov8
Lyle Odelein7
Steve Mason7
Kristian Huselius7
Mike Commodore7
Nikolai Zherdev6
Marc Methot6
Antoine Vermette6
Derek Dorsett6
David Savard5
Derick Brassard5
Jaroslav Spacek5
Adam Foote4
Andrew Cassells4
Curtis McElhinney3
Dalton Prout3
Jason Chimera3
Kris Russell3
Lukas Sedlak3
Luke Richardson3
Marian Gaborik3
Marko Dano3
Michael Peca3
Nikita Filatov3
Allen York2
David Clarkson2
Deron Quint2
Duvie Westcott2
Jan Hejda2
Jaroslav Balastik2
Joonas Korpisalo2
Kyle Quincey2
Ole-Kristian Tollefsen2
Robert Kron2
Sonny Milano2
Steve Heinze2
William Karlsson2
Zenon Konopka2
Alexandre Picard1
Chris Clark1
Cody Bass1
Curtis Glencross1
Curtis Sanford1
Dan Fritsche1
Derrick Walser1
Ethan Moreau1
Grant Clitsome1
Jack Skille1
Jamie Heward1
Jordan Leopold1
Kevin Connauton1
Markus Nutivaara1
Martin Prusek1
Mike York1
Nathan Horton1
Nikita Nikitin1
Rafi Torres1
Ryan Murray1
Shawn Hunwick1
Tim Erixon1
Zenith Komarniski1

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.