Preview: Sprint to the Finish

The breaks are over. The time to get things right starts now.

Minnesota Wild at Columbus Blue Jackets
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 7:00 EST
Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio
TV: Fox Sports Ohio - Radio: WBNS FM
Opponent’s Blog: Hockey Wilderness
Game Faceoff

The Columbus Blue Jackets return from the All Star Break tonight as they play host to the visiting Minnesota Wild. Columbus has not had a great month of January, going just 5-5 in its last 10 games.

The Blue Jackets will, in all likelihood, welcome back center Brandon Dubinsky tonight after he practiced yesterday, slotting in on the third line between Matt Calvert and Oliver Bjorkstrand. Dubinsky has been out since December 12 when he suffered an eye injury in a fight with Zack Cassian of the Edmonton Oilers. Dubinsky returned home last week ahead of the team’s 2-1 victory in Arizona for ... some reason which we’re not going to speculate about. Hopefully, whatever ailed Dubinsky is in the past and he can focus on playing well for the club.

Seth Jones, after missing All Star Weekend, will return to the lineup as well. You have to feel for Jones, who was thrilled to be representing the club in Tampa for the second straight season. Jones missed the festivities with the flu, and was admirably replaced by Zach Werenski who notched an assist in the Metropolitan’s defeat to the Atlantic.

Sergei Bobrovsky has been announced as the starter tonight for the Columbus Blue Jackets. The team will hold a morning skate today in preparation for the game after the layoff.

Go Jackets.


After morning skate, Torts gave an injury update on Ryan Murray.

Probable Lineups

Artemi Panarin Pierre-Luc Dubois Josh Anderson
Nick Foligno Alexander Wennberg Cam Atkinson
Matt Calvert Brandon Dubinsky Oliver Bjorkstrand
Boone Jenner Lukas Sedlak Jussi Jokinen
Zach Werenski Seth Jones
Jack Johnson David Savard
Dean Kukan Markus Nutivaara
Sergei Bobrovsky
Joonas Korpisalo
Jason Zucker Mikko Koivu Mikael Granlund
Daniel Winnik Eric Staal Zach Parise
Kyle Rau Joel Eriksson Ek Charlie Coyle
Marcus Foligno Matt Cullen Tyler Ennis
Ryan Suter Jared Spurgeon
Jonas Brodin Matthew Dumba
Gustav Olofsson Nate Prosser
Devan Dubnyk
Alex Stalock

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.