Jaime Sifers Named Cleveland Monsters’ IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year

On Thursday, the Monsters announced Jaime Sifers was the team’s honoree for the 2016-17 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. This award highlights those who have done great things within their community. Sifers won the award because of his “Sifers’ Seats for Soldiers” campaign.

During the 2016-17 season, Sifers would host a Military family on Friday night home games.

After the game, win or lose, Sifers would spend time with the family and take them on a tour of the Monsters’ locker room.

This award places Sifers in the running for the 2016-17 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award.

Yanick Dupre is a former Hershey Bear who died of cancer in 1997.

Past winners of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award:

1997-98 : John Jakopin (Beast of New Haven)

1998-99: Brent Thompson (Hartford Wolf Pack)

1999-00: Mike Minard (Hamilton Bulldogs)

2000-01: Mike Minard (St. John’s Maple Leafs)

2001-02: Travis Roche (Houston Aeros)

2002-03: Jimmy Roy (Manitoba Moose)

2003-04: Kurtis Foster (Chicago Wolves)

2004-05: Duncan Milroy (Hamilton Bulldogs)

2005-06: Mitch Fritz (Springfield Falcons)

2006-07: Matt Carkner (Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins)

2007-08: Denis Hamel (Binghamton Senators)

2008-09: Brandon Rogers (Houston Aeros)

2009-10: Josh Tordjman (San Antonio Rampage)

2010-11: Cody Bass (Binghamton Senators)

2011-12: Nick Petrecki (Worcester Sharks)

2012-13: Mike Zigomanis (Toronto Marlies)

2013-14: Eric Neilson (Syracuse Crunch)

2014-15: Kyle Hagel (Charlotte Checkers)

2015-16: Ryan Carpenter (San Jose Barracudas)

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.