Game Preview: Recharge

Columbus looks to get back on track in Tampa

The last time Columbus played Tampa Bay, that 5-1 victory kicked off a 16 game winning streak. Since that streak, the Blue Jackets have lost 3 of the last 4 and are desperate to get back to their winning ways. They’re hoping the Lightning are the cure to what ails, as Columbus defeated them a combined 10-4 in their first two meetings.

To that end, John Tortorella has returned to his line blender after remaining consistent with the lineup for the last two months. Of note is Cam Atkinson getting bumped up to the top line with Alexander Wennberg and Brandon Saad, and Brandon Dubinsky getting two new wingers in Scott Hartnell and Nick Foligno.

Sergei Bobrovsky and Matt Calvert are both recovered from their illness and were able to practice yesterday.

Anton Forsberg was returned to Cleveland and Markus Hannikainen was recalled, though likely just as a healthy scratch/emergency replacement. Joonas Korpisalo is the backup.

On the Tampa side, they won their first game of 2017 last night against the Sabres, ending a 4 game skid. They have been battling injuries but several players returned from injury Thursday, including goalie Ben Bishop. Andrei Vasilevskiy will start tonight.

The start time of the game was pushed back to 8 p.m. to allow time for a pregame ceremony to retire the jersey of Lightning great Martin St. Louis. He was a key part of the 2004 Stanley Cup Champion team, under the direction of Coach Tortorella. Torts will be part of the ceremony for his former player.

An undersized right winger who blossomed under Torts? That sounds kinda familiar, doesn’t it...

Projected Lineups

Brandon Saad Alexander Wennberg Cam Atkinson
Scott Hartnell Brandon Dubinsky Nick Foligno
Boone Jenner William Karlsson Josh Anderson
Matt Calvert Lukas Sedlak Sam Gagner
Zach Werenski Seth Jones
Jack Johnson David Savard
Ryan Murray Markus Nutivaara
Sergei Bobrovsky
Joonas Korpisalo
Ondrej Vladislav Namestnikov Nikita Kucherov
Alex Killorn Tyler Johnson Matthew Peca
Brian Boyle Valtteri Filppula Jonathan Drouin
Michael Bournival Cedric Paquette Gabriel Dumont
Victor Hedman Anton Stralman
Jason Garrison Andrej Sustr
Braydon Coburn Nikita Nesterov
Andrei Vasilevskiy
Ben Bishop

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.