clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AHL Announces Division Alignment

The Cleveland Monsters will stay in the Central Division for the 2017-18 season.

John Saraya/Cleveland Monsters

The American Hockey League announced the division alignment for the 2017-18 season. The Board of Governors made a few changes for the 2017-18 season.

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

2016-17 2017-18
2016-17 2017-18
Bridgeport Sound Tigers Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Hartford Wolf Pack Charlotte Checkers
Hershey Bears Hartford Wolf Pack
Lehigh Valley Phantoms Hershey Bears
Providence Bruins Lehigh Valley Phantoms
Springfield Thunderbirds Providence Bruins
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Springfield Thunderbirds
n/a Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Atlantic Division : 2016-17 vs 2017-18 Elaine Shircliff

The Atlantic division went from seven teams to eight with the addition of the Charlotte Checkers.

They will now face 14 other teams in their conference instead of 10. Which means they will have to adapt to even more styles of play. This move will either highlight the Checkers weaknesses or will help them become an even better team.

All season, fans have blown up the Checkers twitter account asking when they will move out of the Western Conference and into the East. Today, they got their wish.

North Division

2016-17 2017-18
2016-17 2017-18
Albany Devils Belleville Senators
Binghamton Senators Binghamton Devils
Rochester Americans Laval Rockets
St. John's IceCaps Rochester Americans
Syracuse Crunch Syracuse Crunch
Toronto Marlies Toronto Marlies
Utica Comets Utica Comets
North Division : 2016-17 vs 2017-18 Elaine Shircliff

Three teams in the North Division will start the 2017-18 season in a new city.

The Binghamton Senators became the Belleville Senators. The move from New York to Ontario puts the team closer to their NHL aAffiliate, the Ottawa Senators.

The Albany Devils are moving into Binghamton to start the 2017-18 season. The move puts 20 extra miles between the Binghamton Devils and their NHL affiliate, the New Jersey Devils.

The St. John’s IceCaps will become the Laval Rocket at the start of the 2017-18 season. Moving to Quebec from Newfoundland will put them a lot closer to the Montreal Canadiens.

The North division retains the same number of teams, seven.

Western Conference

Central Division

2016-17 2017-18
2016-17 2017-18
Charlotte Checkers Chicago Wolves
Chicago Wolves Cleveland Monster
Cleveland Monsters Grand Rapids Griffins
Grand Rapids Griffins Iowa Wild
Iowa Wild Manitoba Moose
Manitoba Moose Milwaukee Admirals
Milwaukke Admirals Rockford IceHogs
Rockford IceHogs n/a
Central Division : 2016-17 vs 2017-18 Elaine Shircliff

The Central Division drops from eight teams to seven for the 2017-18 season. Unless travel plans change for the Western Conference, fans of the Central will see a lot more of the six other teams in the division.

Pacific Division

2016-17 2017-18
2016-17 2017-18
Bakersfield Condors Bakersfield Condors
Ontario Reign Ontario Reign
San Antonio Rampage San Antonio Rampage
San Diego Gulls San Diego Gulls
San Jose Barracuda San Jose Barracuda
Stockton Heat Stockton Heat
Texas Stars Texas Stars
Tucson Roadrunners Tucson Roadrunners
Pacific Division : 2016-17 vs 2017-18 Elaine Shircliff

The Pacific Division is the only division that will not see changes to their alignment.