clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bjorkstrand Named to 2017 AHL All-Star Classic

Oliver Bjorkstrand battles for the puck against the Griffins.
Oliver Bjorkstrand battles for the puck against the Griffins.
John Saraya/Cleveland Monsters

On January 5th, 2017 the AHL announced the roster for the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic featuring Cleveland Monsters' forward, Oliver Bjorkstrand.

Bjorkstrand will join Ryan Craig on the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic roster. Craig was named as one of the Captains of the All-Star classic in December.

Over the course of 22 games this season, Bjorkstrand has tallied a total of 15 points in the form of 10 goals and 6 assists. His 10 goals are the best on the team. In five appearances with the Columbus Blue Jackets, Bjorkstrand notched one assist.

This will be Bjorkstrand's first AHL All-Star Classic appearance.

A committee of AHL coaches determined the rosters and each division will be represented by 12 players.

Below is the list of participants in the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic.

Atlantic Division AHL All-Stars

Coach: Clark Donatelli - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

Chris Bourque (Captain) - Hershey Bears - Forward
Travis Boyd - Hershey Bears - Forward
T.J. Brennan - Lehigh Valley Phantoms - Defenseman
Jake Guentzel - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins - Forward
Danton Heinen -  Providence Bruins - Forward
Tristan Jarry - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins - Goaltender
Nicklas Jensen - Hartford Wolf Pack - Forward
Taylor Leier - Lehigh Valley Phantoms - Forward
Zane McIntyre - Providence Bruins - Goaltender
Devon Toews - Bridgeport Sound Tigers - Defenseman
Jordan Weal - Lehigh Valley Phantoms - Forward
Mackenzie Weegar- Springfield Thunderbirds - Defenseman

North Division AHL All-Stars

Coach: Benoit Groulx - Syracuse Crunch

Casey Bailey - Binghamton Senators - Forward
Mark Barberio - St. John's IceCaps - Defenseman
Joe Blandisi - Albany Devils - Forward
Yanni Gourde - Syracuse Crunch - Forward
Kasperi Kapanen - Toronto Marlies - Forward
Brendan Leipsic - Toronto Marlies - Forward
Charlie Lindgren - St. John's IceCAps - Goaltender
John Quenneville - Albany Devils - Forward
Cole Schneider - Rochester Americans - Forward
Jordan Subban - Utica Comets - Defenseman
Matt Taormina - Syracuse Crunch - Defenseman
Linus Ullmark - Rochester Americans - Goaltender

Central Division AHL All- Stars

Coach: Todd Nelson - Grand Rapids Griffins

Spencer Abbott - Rockford IceHogs - Forward
Kenny Agostino - Chicago Wolves - Forward
Oliver Bjorkstrand - Cleveland Monsters - Forward
Alexandre Carrier - Milwaukee Admirals - Defenseman
Ryan Craig (Captain) - Cleveland Monsters - Forward
Brad Hunt - Chicago Wolves - Defenseman
Michael Leighton - Charlotte Checkers - Goaltender
Matt Lorito - Grand Rapids Griffins - Forward
Teemu Pulkkinen - Iowa Wild - Forward
Jack Roslovic - Manitoba Moose - Forward
Robbie Russo - Grand Rapids Griffins - Defenseman
Juuse Saros - Milwaukee Admirals - Goaltender

Pacific Division AHL All-Stars

Coach: Mike Stothers - Ontario Reign

Taylor Beck - Bakersfield Condors - Forward
Jonny Brodzinski - Ontario Reign - Forward
A.J. Greer - San Antonio Rampage - Forward
Troy Grosenick - San Jose Barracuda - Goaltender
Julius Honka - Texas Stars - Defenseman 
Mark Jankowski - Stockton Heat - Forward
Vincent LoVerde - Ontario Reign - Defenseman
Spencer Martin - San Antonio Rampage - Goaltender
Brandon Montour - San Diego Gulls - Defenseman 
Daniel O'Regan - San Jose Barracuda - Forward
Brendan Perlini - Tucson Roadrunners - Forward
Kyle Wood - Tucson Roadrunners - Defenseman

The 2017 AHL All-Star Classic will take place January 29-30 in Allentown, PA at the home of the Lehigh Valley Phantoms, the PPL Center.