clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

No Suspension for Dubinsky

New, comments

After his ejection, Brandon Dubinsky will not face further suspension.

Kirk Irwin

After the hit deemed on the ice to be so bad that it merited a five minute major AND a game misconduct, the League had a, shall we say, different view. Bob MacKenzie Tweeted as much:

NHL reviewed Dubinsky (CBJ) hit on Koivu (ANA). No supplementary discipline. Ruled a body on body hit with incidental head contact.

OK, then. So, I ask: at what point do the referees face any kind of disciplinary action? People reviewed the tape and called it a "body on body hit with incidental head contact" whereas the officials huddled and called it a five minute major for "interference" (wait, what?) AND a game misconduct that wasn't worthy of a raised hand (meaning, they called the penalty after the fact).

OK, then. Nothing to see here.