2009 NHL Awards Live Blog

I will attempt to update as the awards are announced, specifically in regards to Steve Mason and Rick Nash.

The show goes live in 10 minutes on Versus, get ready!


(new updates will be towards the bottom)

7:30pm - A very... interesting... intro for the NHL Awards Show.

7:37pm - Nice recap of the Finals. Malkin, Talbot, and Bylsma bring out the Stanley Cup - congrats fellas!

7:39pm - Time for the Calder Trophy... Go Mase!


Congrats Steve! Wins the first award of the night, that takes some pressure off.

7:45pm - Alex Ovechkin wins the Lester B. Pearson Award as the league's most outstanding player in the regular season, voted on by members of the NHLPA.

7:49pm - Pavel Datsyuk wins the Selke Trophy for the 2nd year in a row.

7:56pm - Masterton Trophy goes to Steve Sullivan.

Sullivan is a great story, and one Nashville Predator you can almost root for.

8:00pm - Jennings Trophy is awarded to Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez.

8:03pm - Another trophy for Pavel Datsyuk as he wins the Lady Byng for the 4th year in a row.

8:12pm - King Clancy Memorial Trophy goes to Ethan Moreau.

8:14pm - First ever "Scotiabank Fan Fav" winner is Roberto Luongo.


Unfortunately, Nash is overseas and was not able to accept the award. That kind of sucked -- the announcement of the award just flew by and was tacked on at the end of another announcement. Oh well, congratulations Rick!

8:27pm - Tim Thomas wins the Vezina Trophy.

You'll get it next year, Mase!

8:32pm - Jack Adams goes to Claude Julien.

I'm not really a fan of this award simply going to the coach of the best team in the league with little regard to the roster they use to get there. That said, I'm glad Julien won it and not McLellan, for that very reason. Julien has done a good job with the turn-around in Boston over the past couple years. Still, of the 3, Andy Murray is certainly the most deserving. He had an amazing turn-around mid-season with the Blues and did an excellent job getting that team to the playoffs despite major injuries. I also still think Ken Hitchcock should have at least been nominated. How he has yet to win the Jack Adams is astounding.

8:36pm - Jarome Iginla wins the Messier Leadership Award.

8:43pm - Norris Trophy goes to Zdeno Chara.

8:48pm - Art Ross Trophy (most points) goes to Evgeni Malkin, and the Rocket Richard (most goals) winner is Alex Ovechkin. But you already knew that.

8:50pm - It's Gary Bettman time!

8:50pm - Jean Beliveau honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

9:02pm - Alexander Ovechkin wins the Hart Trophy as the NHL's MVP.

Congratulations! A well deserved win. (A little shocked to not see Malkin win)


That's it! Congrats to all the winners, especially Steve Mason and Rick Nash - you make Columbus proud!

Subscribe to The Cannon

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.