Highlights of the 2014/2015 Blue Jackets Schedule

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL released the 2014 / 2015 schedule today, and there a few interesting highlights.

The Blue Jackets and NHL released the 2014 / 2015 schedule today, and my initial thoughts are that it is a very balanced slate, with some interesting elements that fans of the Jackets should find interesting. Click here or see below for the full schedule.

Highlights:

- The Jackets open the season on the road in Buffalo on October 9.

- Two nights later is the home opener against the Eastern Conference champion Rangers.

- The California road trip is in October, part of a four game trip with a stop in Ottawa, before facing San Jose, Anaheim and the champion Kings from 18-24 October. It's great to get that trip out of the way early.

- The other long trip, to Western Canada, runs from 18-21 March against the Oilers, Canucks and Flames. The game against the Flames is a matinee however.

- The longest homestand is at the end of the calendar year, with a five-gamer between 18 and 31 December against the Capitals, Blackhawks, Predators, Bruins and Wild.

- The longest road trip is also five games, running from 14 to 22 February with stops in Long Island, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Montreal and New York. There are two four-game road trips as well, in October and January.

- The Metro divisional breakdown is as follows: two home and two away against the 'Canes, Devils, Islanders, Rangers and Penguins, with two home/three away against the Flyers, and three home/two away against the Capitals.

- The Jackets will play each Western Conference team twice, one home, one away.

- Breakdown by day of the week:

Monday (5)
Tuesday (17)
Wednesday (5)
Thursday (11)
Friday (15)
Saturday (24)
Sunday (5)

- The team will play 19 back-to-backs.

- The NHL All Star Game is in Columbus this season, with the skills competition taking place on Saturday, 24 January with the game itself the next day, 25 January.

- Thanks in part to the new broadcast deal for Sportsnet in Canada, and also to the success the team experienced last season, there are a greater number of games on National TV in Canada next year. The Jackets will be featured on Sportsnet four times, and Hockey Night in Canada six times. This is terrific from an exposure point of view.

- The New Year's Eve game is back, and it will be at home against the Wild.

- The Jackets will face 2014 playoff opponent Pittsburgh on 13 December, 19 February, 1 March and 4 April.

- The Jackets close the regular season on 11 April, 2015 on the road in Long Island.

FULL SCHEDULE:

October, 2014
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Thu Oct 9, 2014 Blue Jackets Sabres 7:00 PM
Sat Oct 11, 2014 Rangers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Tue Oct 14, 2014 Stars Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Oct 17, 2014 Flames Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Oct 18, 2014 Blue Jackets Senators 7:00 PM
Thu Oct 23, 2014 Blue Jackets Sharks 10:30 PM
Fri Oct 24, 2014 Blue Jackets Ducks 10:00 PM
Sun Oct 26, 2014 Blue Jackets Kings 4:00 PM
Tue Oct 28, 2014 Senators Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Oct 31, 2014 Maple Leafs Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
November, 2014
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Sat Nov 1, 2014 Blue Jackets Devils 7:00 PM
Tue Nov 4, 2014 Hurricanes Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Nov 7, 2014 Blue Jackets Hurricanes 7:00 PM
Sat Nov 8, 2014 Lightning Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Tue Nov 11, 2014 Blue Jackets Capitals 7:00 PM
Fri Nov 14, 2014 Blue Jackets Flyers 7:00 PM
Sat Nov 15, 2014 Sharks Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Tue Nov 18, 2014 Red Wings Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Nov 21, 2014 Bruins Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Nov 22, 2014 Blue Jackets Flyers 7:00 PM
Tue Nov 25, 2014 Jets Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Nov 28, 2014 Canucks Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Nov 29, 2014 Blue Jackets Predators 8:00 PM
December, 2014
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Mon Dec 1, 2014 Panthers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Thu Dec 4, 2014 Blue Jackets Panthers 7:30 PM
Sat Dec 6, 2014 Blue Jackets Lightning 7:00 PM
Tue Dec 9, 2014 Flyers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Thu Dec 11, 2014 Blue Jackets Capitals 7:00 PM
Sat Dec 13, 2014 Penguins Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Tue Dec 16, 2014 Blue Jackets Red Wings 7:30 PM
Thu Dec 18, 2014 Capitals Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Dec 20, 2014 Blackhawks Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Mon Dec 22, 2014 Predators Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Dec 27, 2014 Bruins Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Wed Dec 31, 2014 Wild Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
January, 2015
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Sat Jan 3, 2015 Blue Jackets Coyotes 8:00 PM
Sun Jan 4, 2015 Blue Jackets Avalanche 8:00 PM
Tue Jan 6, 2015 Blue Jackets Stars 8:30 PM
Fri Jan 9, 2015 Blue Jackets Maple Leafs 7:30 PM
Sat Jan 10, 2015 Islanders Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Wed Jan 14, 2015 Canadiens Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Jan 16, 2015 Rangers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Jan 17, 2015 Blue Jackets Bruins 7:00 PM
Mon Jan 19, 2015 Blue Jackets Wild 8:00 PM
Wed Jan 21, 2015 Blue Jackets Jets 9:00 PM
Tue Jan 27, 2015 Capitals Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Thu Jan 29, 2015 Blue Jackets Panthers 7:30 PM
Sat Jan 31, 2015 Blue Jackets Lightning 7:30 PM
February, 2015
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Tue Feb 3, 2015 Coyotes Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Feb 6, 2015 Blues Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Feb 7, 2015 Blue Jackets Senators 7:00 PM
Mon Feb 9, 2015 Kings Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Feb 13, 2015 Flyers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Feb 14, 2015 Blue Jackets Islanders 7:00 PM
Tue Feb 17, 2015 Blue Jackets Flyers 7:00 PM
Thu Feb 19, 2015 Blue Jackets Penguins 7:00 PM
Sat Feb 21, 2015 Blue Jackets Canadiens 7:00 PM
Sun Feb 22, 2015 Blue Jackets Rangers 7:00 PM
Tue Feb 24, 2015 Sabres Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Thu Feb 26, 2015 Canadiens Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Feb 28, 2015 Devils Blue Jackets 5:00 PM
March, 2015
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Sun Mar 1, 2015 Blue Jackets Penguins 5:00 PM
Tue Mar 3, 2015 Capitals Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Mar 6, 2015 Blue Jackets Devils 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 7, 2015 Avalanche Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Tue Mar 10, 2015 Blue Jackets Hurricanes 7:00 PM
Thu Mar 12, 2015 Blue Jackets Red Wings 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 13, 2015 Oilers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sun Mar 15, 2015 Hurricanes Blue Jackets 5:00 PM
Wed Mar 18, 2015 Blue Jackets Oilers 10:00 PM
Thu Mar 19, 2015 Blue Jackets Canucks 10:00 PM
Sat Mar 21, 2015 Blue Jackets Flames 4:00 PM
Tue Mar 24, 2015 Ducks Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Fri Mar 27, 2015 Blue Jackets Blackhawks 8:30 PM
Sat Mar 28, 2015 Blue Jackets Blues 8:00 PM
Tue Mar 31, 2015 Devils Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
April, 2015
Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Thu Apr 2, 2015 Islanders Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Apr 4, 2015 Penguins Blue Jackets 2:00 PM
Mon Apr 6, 2015 Blue Jackets Rangers 7:00 PM
Wed Apr 8, 2015 Maple Leafs Blue Jackets 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10, 2015 Sabres Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat Apr 11, 2015 Blue Jackets Islanders 7:00 PM
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Cannon

You must be a member of The Cannon to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Cannon. You should read them.

Join The Cannon

You must be a member of The Cannon to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Cannon. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker